The Stacks

I used to wander through the library as a child and I remember the  feeling of awe and wonder.  “What is inside those big thick books?”  “What is in this section called Philosophy?”

Of course, I had my favorites- the 800’s literature and poetry and the YA fiction section.

I stumbled onto Edgar Allen Poe and Keats and always walked through the stacks… wondering.

Now…with digital content and online search engines,there are no stacks. I get back wepages that directly correspond to my search terms and keywords. Sure- there are sites like stumbleupon, but I still retrieve hits that relate to my personal search terms. Have we lost serendipity?

Are we evolving into what I termed earlier as “similarization” and narrow mindedness?

Oh, how I will miss the stacks.

One thought on “The Stacks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *