I Can’t Keep Up (a poem)

I can’t keep up

with who to follow on twitter
with tech trends and Web 2.0 tools (a new one every time I turn around)
with reading literature in my research area
with art- to observe or to create (reading is inhalation- writing is exhalation)…music, multi-media, poetry, literature

I can’t keep up with all I want to learn- augmented reality is next-
the best practices of education
with digital citizenship, digital footprints, hackers and new media after the hierarchy of information came tumbling down

I can’t keep up with the past, the present, or the future
and all the apps that just came out
and the upgrades and the software

with all the blog posts I want to write
(Blog post Idea #52: research is poetry- the restraint of required formats and the incredible condensation of words into the essence of meaning)
with all the hyperlinks from the intelligent people I follow, the conversations I want to join and contribute to

I can’t keep up with what to have for dinner tonight…a minor yet important thing

But I take a deep breath

and say OK

because all I need to do is take a step forward

just one step forward

in awareness

in appreciation

breathe, drink, eat, learn, smile, share

One thought on “I Can’t Keep Up (a poem)

  1. Val – Nicely done. I understand not being able to keep up. I read an interesting article on the lifechngr blog by Clayton M. Christensen

    http://lifechngr.com/2012/05/25/how-will-you-measure-your-life-by-clayton-christensen/

    Also see “There is no such thing as information overload” – it isnot what you think!

    http://timkastelle.org/blog/2012/01/theres-no-such-thing-as-information-overload/

    And I love the 5 Ingrediant Fix! http://www.foodnetwork.com/5-ingredient-fix/index.html

    But get it on your phone so you can take it to the graocery store!
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/mobile/package/index.html?xp=itkapp

    Have a great day,
    Robin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *